The Hamblen Society: A Legacy of Preservation

The name Hamblen has been closely connected to Spokane’s parks for over a century. Laurence Hamblen was named to the City of Spokane Park Board in 1912, elected Park Board president in 1930 and held that role until his death in 1956. As Park Board president he appointed a committee in January 1951 to work on the creation of a foundation to support parks and recreation in Spokane – the Spokane Parks Foundation. Laurence Hamblen was elected as one of the Foundation’s first Board members, and served the Foundation for the next five years.

For three years the name Hamblen was missing from the Foundation’s Board, until April 1959 when Laurence’s son, Herb, was named to the Board. Within the month, Herb was elected as Foundation president – a role he held for almost three decades.

The Hamblen family has long been advocates for Spokane’s parks and recreation, and we are honored to found the Hamblen Society in their memory. Members of the Hamblen Society have included the Spokane Parks Foundation in their estate or other planned gifts.

Though Hamblen Society members come to us from all walks of life, they all share one thing in common – the firm belief that parks are a vital and much-needed part of life, and that Spokane’s parks must be protected, nurtured and strengthened.

Please join us in thanking our Hamblen Society members for continuing the vision of Laurence and Herb Hamblen.

If you have included the Foundation in a planned gift, please call Heather at (509) 326-5233 so that we can add you to the Society.

A Gift We Treasure. A Trust We Preserve. A Legacy We Leave.

Hamblen Society Members

Nanette Joyner Ahlquist*

R.G. Ardres*

Janet E. Bystuen*

William A. Corey*

Joseph Cyr

Louis Davenport, Jr.*

Verus E. Davenport*

Joel E. Ferris*

Helen Hamblen*

Laurence R. Hamblen*

Clifford E. Hawkins*

Phyllis Holmes and Bob Voris

Sherry Knott*

R.R. Miller*

Anthony William Morris*

Arlin G. Perkins*

Lilian M. Rusch*

Phyllis Dolvin Schoedel*

Alice A. Smith*

Marjorie M. Thompson*

Erna Bert Nelson Van Werald*

Mathias Weirich*

Erma W. Wells*

Caryl White*

Lura V. Whitham*

Mary E. Yeomans*

*In Memoriam

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Keep Up With Us
RSS Feed
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square